NINA GARCIA: ON BEING AN INTERN TO EDITOR

jag01-img_24642013

ON HER DREAM OF BEING IN FASHION

“I grew up knowing that [being in fashion] was the dream. That time, we didn’t have so many resources. We didn’t know so much about fashion. We had two publications that I read vigorously. The idea of fashion for me was all about designing. I didn’t know that it can be such a broad thing. There are so many parts of this business that are fashion-related, and you don’t necessarily need to be a designer to do that.”

tumblr_inline_mml9wpxsIl1qz4rgp

ON BEING AN INTERN TO EDITOR

“I was very lucky that I was able to go to America to study. I just graduated from the Fashion Institute of Technology. I found various internships in different fields. One of those happened to be with Marc Jacobs when he was designing for Perry Ellis. I wasn’t even the assistant! I was the intern in the closet who checked garment bags.

“…that’s how everything started for me, I was so passionate about it… “

“When somebody ask me what was the thing that you defy it the most, It wasnt anything, I just want to breathe the air of fashion, i was just happy being there that’s how passionate, that’s how determined [I am], there is no other place for me, this is my goal.”

181445_10201206999478362_955186443_n

HER ADVICE FOR YOUNG DESIGNERS

“Stay very focus, know what is the women you want to focus , be very distinctive, you have to have a very disctictive point of view, know yourself, be unique, be authentic to yourself, i see very often other designers trying to imitate other designers or admire or admiration, i say this to students, to editors, to anybody it’s about being yourself, it’s about being unique,it’s about being your own”

ON HOW TO MARKET YOURSELF

“..you call. You send me your lookbook. You find out what the email address is. You look in the magazine, you look at the masthead. Who are the market editors? You send them a letter. You send them an email. You follow up with the call. You will get someone to look at your designs, I promise. Because you know what? Here’s the job of an editor: The job of an editor is to find new talent. We’re always looking for new faces. It gives us pleasure when we find one thing we haven’t seen which is going to move us.”

Once one editor discover a good designer, it is not a secret it will pass on to other editors, to the other publisher, and everyone who want to see it.

ON FAMOUS DESIGNER SHE “DISCOVERED”

“I remember when John Galliano and Alexander McQueen first started showing. Alexander had a very small apartment in Paris. Very powerful designer, who is creating very beautiful clothes. All the editors went to his apartment and saw five to six pieces. They were extraordinary. And I remember saying, “Wow! He’s going to be amazing. I also remember reading Zac Posen’s lookbook. He was so young. He showed us four to five pieces on a mannequin in his mother’s home. That’s where we first saw him.”

ON LIFE AFTER FASHION SCHOOL

“Once you graduate, do an internship. Try it out! You have to experiment and see what you like. This is a phenomenal way to network, and also to figure out what you want to do.”

ON HAVING THE DREAM

You have to have a dream, and you have to believe in yourself, you have to be persistent,
You have to be prepared.

tumblr_mlwb2s9UYi1qemukso8_1280

ON BEING AN EDITOR

“It is competitive.”
“Thereis no right or wrong in fashion”
“The energy because your working, its the enery and the dream that you can make it, its the dream that you can feel, you can really work hard and be recognized…”

ON BLOGGERS AND EDITORS

“Bloggers have made it, competition is good, I appreciate what they do I read it, i follow them…”

“I like the bloggers. They give editors a little run for their money. But as editors, we offer a different kind of service. When I put together a magazine, I am putting together a magazine for different women for many different ages that have very different needs. The bloggers have a very personal point of view. Most of them are centered on themselves. I love the competition that the industry is changing so much, changing everyhting…”

ON BEING STYLISH

Style has nothing to do with beauty, style is a very authentic point of view, they are never followers,

ON FASHION BEING SHALLOW

“People think fashion is [just about the] surface. It’s not. It’s a serious business. It’s a billion-dollar business that gives jobs to many, many people. It’s a very important industry in our country.”

As like Nina and other big names in fashion, they started small as an intern but that doesn’t made them less of a person but the person they wanted and dreamed to be.

It’s like climbing , climb slowly until you reach success as pressure make diamonds and when you climb faster and carelessly, the faster you fall.

It is indeed one inspiring night with Nina Garcia. Hope this will help in pushing dreams and achieving it.

XOXO,

Fashion Ate The Lawyer

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

